[Competition venue: Makuhari Messe Hall A]

  • Taekwondo

    Competition area: 8m x 8m (urethane mat)
    Duration: 2 minutes x 3 rounds (interval: one minute)

    Competitors wearing a pull over uniform and protective gear for the head, waist, etc., fight in a one-on-one battle.
    Fighters earn points by punching and kicking the opponent’s body above the waist.

    Key Points

    Each blow is worth one to four points. The axe kick, back kick and other graceful, high scoring techniques are a must-see.
    The major features of this sport include tricking the opponent with feints and fakes to counterattack, and the martial art aspect of knocking down the opponent with an accurate attack.
    Competitors can also win by knocking out their opponent or lose by disqualification resulting from a foul.
    If a match is tied after three rounds, a fourth round will be conducted as a golden point round.


    Taekwondo was designated as the national martial art of Korea after World War II. Today, it has become an international sport practiced by more than 70 million people worldwide, with 207 countries now members of the World Taekwondo Federation.
    Taekwondo made its Olympic appearance as a demonstration sport at the Seoul 1988 Games and the Barcelona 1992 Games. The sport became an official medal sport at the Sydney 2000 Games. At these Games, Yoriko Okamoto won a bronze medal, attracting much attention in Japan.
    While Erika Kasahara came in seventh place and Mayu Hamada fifth place at the London 2012 Games, and although Hamada competed in the Rio de Janeiro 2016 Games, no Japanese athlete won a medal. Hamada is training hard to compete in the Tokyo Games.


    (IOC Announcement, June9, 2017)

    Event - 58kg
    - 68kg
    - 80kg
    + 80kg
    - 49kg
    - 57kg
    - 67kg
    + 67kg