[Competition venue: Tokyo Stadium]

  • Rugby

    Rugby sevens, also known as “sevens,” is played by teams made up of seven players.

    The match consists of two halves of seven minutes, totalling 14 minutes. The final match of a competition can be played over two halves of ten minutes each.

    Competition area (field): 68 to 70m x 94 to 100m

    Key Points

    Rugby sevens is played on a field of the same dimensions as the 15-player game. Because the field is so open and covered by fewer players, there is much more movement of the ball than in the 15-player version; games are speedy and explosive with displays of outstanding ball control. The main features of this sport include exciting and smooth passages of play, with large numbers of tries.


    Rugby sevens was invented in 1883 in the Scottish Borders area, adjacent to the English border. Since then, this compact and simple sport has been exported worldwide. In 1930, the first sevens tournament in Japan was held, leading to a rise in its popularity in the country.
    Rugby union, with 15 players per team, has been featured in the Olympic programme four times: in 1900, 1908, 1920 and 1924. The seven-a-side version of the sport will make its debut at the Rio 2016 Games.


    (IOC Announcement, June9, 2017)

    Event Rugby Sevens Rugby Sevens