【Competition Venues:Nippon Budokan

  • Overview

    In Paralympic judo, judoka compete not according to visual impairment classifications, but in weight classes in the same manner as Olympic judoka.

    parajudo view

    There are seven divisions for men (-60kg, -66kg, -73kg, -81kg, -90kg, -100kg, +100kg), and six for women (-48kg, -52kg, -57kg, -63kg, -70kg, +70kg). The rules are almost the same with those for physically unimpaired judoka. However, with consideration given to the fact that visually impaired judoka compete, the rules have been modified in part. The major difference is how to begin a match. Matches between physically unimpaired athletes begin with two judoka standing apart from each other. In judo for visually impaired athletes, on the other hand, judoka make physical contact with each other at the start of the match by holding the opponent's collar and sleeve.


    Judo originates from Japan. The popularity of the sport at the Tokyo 1964 Paralympic Games resulted in its gradual spread around the world and it is now a major international para-sport.

    Judo has been an official sport since the Seoul 1988 Paralympic Games. At the beginning, competitions were only for men, but since the Athens 2004 Paralympic Games, women's competitions have also been held.


    Sports Event

    up to 60.00kg
    up to 66.00kg
    up to 73.00kg
    up to 81.00kg
    up to 90.00kg
    up to 100.00kg
    over 100.00kg
    up to 48.00kg
    up to 57.00kg
    up to 63.00kg
    up to 70.00kg
    over 70.00kg
    Eligible impairment
    • Visual impairment

    (Updated on April 10, 2019)